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Black Friday Cyber Monday (BFCM) - Recommendations & Strategies 2023
Black Friday Cyber Monday (BFCM) - Recommendations & Strategies 2023
Andrea Mamone avatar
Written by Andrea Mamone
Updated over a week ago

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Introduction

Take advantage of the holiday sales surge by using Perpetua’s scheduled changes strategies. Our two strategies: “BFCM 2023 Scheduled Changes - 11 Days” and “BFCM 2023 Scheduled Changes - 5 Days”, are created to take advantage of both the extended Amazon sales timeline, and the traditional core 5-day sales event.

Our recommended budget and ACoS increase values, as well as dates, are based on historical data from past BFCM sales events, but can also be changed to meet your own custom needs.


How Does it Work?

These strategies enable you to schedule a budget and target ACoS increase to your goals on a certain date. The multi-step nature of these strategies allows you to ramp up your campaigns towards BFCM, and then pull back during high CPC + low CVR periods such as the weekend between Black Friday and Cyber Monday, as well as the days immediately after Cyber Monday.

You can think of the increased values as multipliers. If your current budget is $10 and you schedule a 150% multiplier for tomorrow, then your budget tomorrow will be $10 * 150% = $15.

Similarly, the multipliers can act as decreases. If your current target ACoS is 50%, and you add a 90% multiplier to start tomorrow, your target ACoS tomorrow will be 50% * 90% = 45%.

🚨Note: Changes are applied to your budget and target ACoS values at the time of strategy creation, and do not take later manual changes into account.
If you have a $10 budget today, create a scheduled change for a 150% increase for 2 days from now, but then manually increase your budget to $20 later today, the change will still be $10 * 150%. If you want to take an updated budget or target ACoS values into account, you will need to delete the existing strategy and create a new one.🚨


When Are Changes Applied?

The changes are applied in the early morning of the specified date, based on the marketplace timezone. Changes must be scheduled at least 1 day before you want them to take place. For example, if you want to schedule a change for November 23rd, you need to create the scheduled changes strategy by November 22nd at the latest.


Viewing Your Changes

Once you create your strategy, you can view your changes in the “Recommendations” tab. Here, you can see a list of all upcoming scheduled changes, as well as previous applied changes.


A Guide To Our Default Values

Based on historical data, we recommend ramping up budgets leading up to BFCM, being very aggressive during Black Friday, pulling back during the weekend, being aggressive during Cyber Monday, and then pulling back for a few days after Cyber Monday.

We recommend the pullbacks during the weekend and days after since based on previous BFCM events, we see that these days have higher CPCs, but lower conversion rates, resulting in wasted ad spend.

Here’s a layout of what our default values are, and how they would apply to an example goal.

Goal Example

  • Starting Example Budget: $20

  • Starting Example Target ACoS: 40%

Phase - Ramp Up

Dates

Suggested Metrics

Examples

  • 5 Day Strategy:
    November 20th, 21st and 22nd.

  • 11 Day Strategy: November 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th, 21st, and 22nd.

  • Budget Multiplier:
    150%

  • ACoS Multiplier:
    100%

  • Budget
    $20*150% = $30

  • Target ACoS:
    40% 100% = 40%

Phase - Black Friday Core Days

Dates

Suggested Metrics

Examples

  • November 23rd and 24th

  • Budget Multiplier:
    250%

  • ACoS Multiplier:
    115%

  • Budget:
    $20*250% = $50

  • Target ACoS:
    40% * 115% = 46%

Phase - BFCM Weekend Dip

Dates

Suggested Metrics

Examples

  • November 25th and 26th

  • Budget Multiplier:
    150%

  • ACoS Multiplier:
    100%

  • Budget:
    $20*150% = $30

  • Target ACoS:
    40% * 100% = 40%

Phase - Cyber Monday

Dates

Suggested Metrics

Examples

  • November 27th

  • Budget Multiplier:
    250%

  • ACoS Multiplier:
    115%

  • Budget:
    $20*250% = $50

  • Target ACoS:
    40% * 115% = 46%

Phase - Cool Down

Dates

Suggested Metrics

Examples

  • November 28th, 29th, 30th and 1st of December

  • Budget Multiplier:
    100%

  • ACoS Multiplier:
    90%

  • Budget:
    $20*100% = $20

  • Target ACoS:
    40% * 90% = 36%

Phase - Back to Normal

Dates

Suggested Metrics

Examples

  • December 2nd, and onwards

  • Budget Multiplier:
    100%

  • ACoS Multiplier:
    100%

  • Budget:
    $20*100% = $20

  • Target ACoS:
    40% * 100% = 40%


Consider Campaign Takeover

If you want to apply this strategy to campaigns not currently being managed by Perpetua, consider using Perpetua's Campaign Takeover.

This feature allows you to transfer all of the Sponsored Products campaigns you launched on Amazon to Perpetua. With Campaign Takeover, you will maintain your historical data and campaign structure. In 2022, businesses that embraced Perpetua's Campaign Takeover witnessed nearly 2X higher daily sales growth.


Learn more about how to take over your Sponsored Product campaigns here.

If you're curious about Sponsored Brands campaign takeover, find out more here.


Article last updated November 2023. If you find this information to be out of date, please contact hello@perpetua.io.

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