In an effort to increase security for sellers, Amazon implemented a new program called Developer Access Confirmation that requires sellers to confirm access to developers like Perpetua every 12 months (also known as re-authentication of your MWS token).
When developer permissions are expiring, sellers receive an email prompting them to confirm access. Clicking the link provided will renew permissions for an additional 12 months.
You don't actually need to receive this email to confirm access and have the option to go directly into Seller Central ➡️ Account Manager ➡️ Amazon MWS Developer Permissions Manager at any time.
When access is not confirmed, you will likely see this at the bottom of your screen on Perpetua because the MWS will auto-disconnect (you may also see this banner if you or a teammate manually disconnected the MWS from Perpetua):
This is nothing to be worried about. Recall that when setting up your account, you connected AAA and MWS:
AAA (Amazon Advertising API) - provides us with access to advertising data & allows Perpetua to optimize campaigns (ie. launch campaigns, etc.)
MWS (Marketplace Web Service) - provides us with product data (ie. New ASINs, inventory levels)
A disconnected MWS will not affect your campaigns because your ads should still be delivering as long as the AAA remains connected.
While we don't need the MWS connection to keep your campaigns running, we do still need it to ensure we are populating data into Perpetua properly. You can resolve this issue by clicking on Reconnect MWS (button in the red box shown above).
Article last updated September 2023. If you find this information to be out of date, please contact email@example.com.